Tuesday 4 October 2022 7:30PM

Royal Academy of Music Bicentenary Celebration

Mahler and Mendelssohn


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Adam Hickox conductor
  • Lucy Crowe soprano
  • James Ehnes violin
  • Jack Liebeck violin
  • Josephine Knight cello
  • Royal Academy of Music students

The Academy presents a special event in celebration of its much anticipated Bicentenary, performed by students past and present and prestigious visiting professors. The concert opens with Mendelssohn’s popular Octet, directed by eminent soloist James Ehnes. Rising star Adam Hickox conducts Erwin Stein’s chamber ensemble arrangement of Mahler’s Fourth Symphony, featuring soprano Lucy Crowe in the epic finale.

  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
      • Octet in E flat Op. 20
  • Interval
  • Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)
      • Symphony No. 4
        • (arranged by Erwin Stein)

We also recommend