Thursday 24 June 2021 7:30PM

RCM Strings Showcase

Haydn, Kaija Saariaho and Mendelssohn


This concert is an external hire..

Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Brompton Quartet
  • Wallis Power cello
  • Kinga Wojdalska viola
  • Maja Horvat violin
  • Esther Park violin
  • Haim Choi violin
  • Coco Inman violin
  • Line Faber violin
  • Vera Beumer violin
  • Connie Pharoah viola
  • Ana Dunne-Sequi viola
  • Shizuku Tatsuno cello
  • Silvestrs Kalnins cello
  • Tamaki Sugimoto cello

We are delighted to welcome talented young artists from the Royal College of Music String Faculty in a concert full of colour and charm.

Haydn’s most famous of the six quartets written in 1793 starts the evening, performed by the Brompton String Quartet. The composer’s String Quartet no 59 is known for its bouncy finale, which gave way to its nickname, “Rider”.

In complete contrast, we then welcome cellist Tamaki Sugimoto, who presents a work by one of Finland’s most prominent female composers, Kaija Saariaho. This work, one of Saariaho’s most well-known and intriguing as the audience is taken through a diverse and fascinating exploration of sound and texture.

A fitting conclusion to the RCM String Showcase comprises Mendelssohn’s landmark Octet. This work, written when he was just sixteen, is said to have paved the way for Mendelssohn’s future international success and fame.

  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
      • String Quartet No. 59 in G minor, Op. 74, No. 3, 'The Rider'
  • Kaija Saariaho (b.1952)
      • Sept Papillons for Solo Cello
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
      • Octet in E flat Op. 20

We also recommend