Monday 20 June 2022 1:00PM

Sabine Meyer clarinet; Alliage Quintett

Borodin, Gershwin, Shostakovich, Stefan Malzew and Weber


This concert will be live streamed on this website in HD. The video will be available on demand for 90 days after the date of the broadcast. Watch live here

Booking information

This event is part of the CAVATINA 25 Scheme. A limited number of free tickets are available to 25 and unders in rows T to V. Log in to book.


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Sabine Meyer clarinet
  • Alliage Quintett
  • Daniel Gauthier soprano saxophone
  • Miguel Valles alto saxophone
  • Simon Hanrath tenor saxophone
  • Sebastian Pottmeier baritone saxophone
  • Jang Eun Bae piano

One of the world’s leading clarinettists has been the recipient of eight Echo Classic Awards, as well as a laureate of the Niedersachsen Prize and the Brahms Prize; she is also a member of the Freie Akademie der Künste Hamburg and in 2010 was named Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres by the French Government. Together with her five colleagues (one pianist, four saxophonists), she brings a programme of arrangements of various popular works from the concert hall and the stage.

  • This concert is part of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust ticket scheme, offering free tickets to those aged 8-25
  • George Gershwin (1898-1937)
      • Cuban Overture
        • (arranged by Itai Sobol)
  • Carl Maria von Weber (1786-1826)
      • Aufforderung zum Tanze Op. 65
        • (arranged by Bernd Wilden)
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
      • The Gadfly Op. 97
        • Prelude (arranged by Levon Atovmyan)
      • Ballet Suite No. 3
        • Gavotte (arranged by Levon Atovmyan)
        • Elegy (arranged by Levon Atovmyan)
        • Waltz (arranged by Levon Atovmyan)
      • Ballet Suite No. 1
        • Polka (arranged by Levon Atovmyan)
  • Stefan Malzew (b.1964)
      • Macabrum Sanctum (Fantasy after Saint-Saëns’s Danse macabre)
  • Aleksandr Porfiryevich Borodin (1833-1887)
      • Prince Igor
        • Polovtsian Dances (arranged by Stéphane Gassot/Camille Pépin)

We also recommend