Sunday 17 May 2015 11:30AM

London Winds ; Michael McHale piano

Saint-Saëns, Mozart and Thuille


  • London Winds
  • Philippa Davies flute
  • Gareth Hulse oboe
  • Richard Watkins horn
  • Robin O'Neill bassoon
  • Michael Collins clarinet, director
  • Michael McHale piano

Technological advances during the early 1900s delivered new versions of wind instruments that soon attracted interest from composers. The transformation was prompted by works such as Mozart’s Quintet for piano and winds, which demonstrated the enormous musical potential of instruments usually associated with outdoor performance.

Michael Collins and his ensemble London Winds also explore the vibrant colours and energy of Saint-Saëns’s Caprice, first performed in St Petersburg in 1887, and the heroic Sextet by Austrian composer Ludwig Thuille.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
        • Caprice sur des airs danois et russes Op. 79
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • Quintet in E flat major K452
  • Ludwig Thuille (1861-1907)
        • Sextet for Piano and Wind Quintet in B flat major Op. 6

We also recommend