Saturday 21 May 2016 7:30PM

Augustin Hadelich; Charles Owen

Schumann, David Lang, Janáček and André Previn


  • Augustin Hadelich violin
  • Charles Owen piano

Music’s mystical nature and power to move in ways not available to other art forms inform Augustin Hadelich’s programme.

The German violinist’s recital includes movements from David Lang’s Mystery Sonatas, which Hadelich first performed at Carnegie Hall in 2014, and Janáček’s Violin Sonata, created as the composer’s response to the carnage of World War One.

  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Violin Sonata No. 1 in A minor Op. 105
  • David Lang (b.1957)
        • Mystery Sonatas (excerpts) [1]
  • Interval
  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
        • Violin Sonata
  • André Previn (b.1929)
        • Tango Song and Dance
  • Encore
  • Aaron Copland (1900-1990)
  1. commissioned by Carnegie Hall

We also recommend