Friday 27 December 2019 7:30PM

Schumann Quartet

Haydn, Shostakovich and Smetana


  • Schumann Quartet

Three German brothers named Schumann were joined in 2012 by their Estonian violist colleague to form a quartet that this month completes a three-year residency at the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center in New York. Haydn’s first official string quartet – The Hunt – opens its programme.

  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
        • String Quartet in B flat Op. 1 No. 1 'La chasse'
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • String Quartet No. 9 in E flat Op. 117
  • Interval
  • Bedřich Smetana (1824-1884)
        • String Quartet No. 1 in E minor 'From my life'
  • Encore
  • Dmitry Shostakovich
      • 2 pieces for string quartet
        • II. Polka (after the Polka from 'The Golden Age' Op. 22)

We also recommend