Friday 16 October 2020 7:30PM

Schumann Quartet

Beethoven and Schumann


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Autumn Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Schumann Quartet

The quartets Op. 41 are Schumann's only string quartets, and were composed after studying the quartets of Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven. The ensemble pairs the third of these with the first of Beethoven’s set dedicated to the Russian ambassador to Vienna, with its variations on a Russian theme.

  • In memory of Peter Flatter
    We are very grateful to those of you who have chosen to support Wigmore Hall with a gift in your Will. All gifts matter. Please contact us if this is something you would like to do, we would love to hear from you. [email protected]
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
      • String Quartet in A Op. 41 No. 3
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • Razumovsky Op. 59 No. 1

We also recommend