Tuesday 29 March 2022 7:30PM

Schumann Quartet

Herrmann and Mozart


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.

Change of Running Order
The running order of the above concert has changed and will now be as follows.


  • Schumann Quartet
  • Erik Schumann violin
  • Ken Schumann violin
  • Veit Benedikt Hertenstein viola
  • Mark Schumann cello

Two notable works by the series composer in this programme. The B flat work (1789) was one of three Mozart wrote to a commission from Friedrich Wilhelm II, King of Prussia – a keen amateur cellist. The ‘Spring’ quartet was completed on the last day of 1782. One of the concert works of film composer Bernard Herrmann, tonight’s piece was written in 1965.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
      • String Quartet No. 14 in G K387 'Spring'
  • Bernard Herrmann (1911-1975)
      • Echoes for String Quartet
  • Interval
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
      • String Quartet No. 22 in B flat K589 'Prussian'

We also recommend