Wednesday 25 May 2022 7:30PM

Schumann Quartet

Janáček and Mozart


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Schumann Quartet
  • Erik Schumann violin
  • Ken Schumann violin
  • Veit Benedikt Hertenstein viola
  • Mark Schumann cello

A previous CD featuring Mozart alongside Verdi and Ives brought the ensemble a Newcomer Award from BBC Music Magazine in 2016. As in earlier instalments of its Mozart Plus Series, music by the Austrian genius forms part of the present programme by a group whom the Süddeutsche Zeitung has described as ‘without doubt one of the very best formations among today’s abundance of quartets.’

  • This concert is part of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust ticket scheme, offering free tickets to those aged 8-25
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
      • String Quartet No. 15 in D minor K421
  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
      • String Quartet No. 1 'Kreutzer Sonata'
  • Interval
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
      • String Quartet No. 20 in D K499 'Hoffmeister'

We also recommend