Sunday 27 February 2022 7:30PM

Sergei Babayan piano; Martha Argerich piano

Mozart and Prokofiev


This concert is currently on advance sale to Friends of Wigmore Hall. For Friends booking dates, please visit our Priority Booking page. For information on becoming a Friend, please visit our Friends page.

If you are a Friend of Wigmore Hall and it is your time to book, please sign in at the top of the page.

General sale for this concert will open at 10:00AM on Tuesday 30 November.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Sergei Babayan piano
  • Martha Argerich piano

Here he collaborates with another exceptional pianist in Mozart’s only sonata for two pianos, written in 1781, plus a substantial selection of theatrical or dramatic music by Prokofiev notably from the ballet Romeo and Juliet, the opera War and Peace, plus incidental music and film scores – all in his own arrangements, which the pair have recorded to great acclaim.

  • Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953)
      • 12 Movements from Romeo and Juliet Op. 64
        • (arranged by Sergei Babayan)
  • Interval
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
      • Sonata in D for 2 pianos K448
  • Sergey Prokofiev
      • Incidental music from Hamlet Op. 77
        • The Ghost of Hamlet's Father (arranged by Sergei Babayan)
      • Incidental music from Eugene Onegin Op. 71
        • Mazurka (arranged by Sergei Babayan)
        • Polka (arranged by Sergei Babayan)
      • The Queen of Spades Op. 70
        • Polonaise (arranged by Sergei Babayan)
        • Idée fixe (arranged by Sergei Babayan)
      • Pushkin Waltzes Op. 120
        • Pushkin Waltz No. 2 in C sharp minor (arranged by Sergei Babayan)
      • War and Peace Op. 91
        • Natasha's and Andrei's Valse (arranged by Sergei Babayan)

We also recommend