Tuesday 12 July 2022 7:30PM

Sheku Kanneh-Mason cello; Isata Kanneh-Mason piano

Bridge, Britten, Khachaturian and Shostakovich


Change of Running Order

The running order of the above concert has changed and will now be as follows:

Booking information

This event is part of the CAVATINA 25 Scheme. A limited number of free tickets are available to 25 and unders in rows T to V. Log in to book.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Sheku Kanneh-Mason cello
  • Isata Kanneh-Mason piano

Two leading members of one the UK’s most exceptional musical families present a programme of 20th-century sonatas. The Russian-Armenian Karen Khachaturian (1920-2011) was a nephew of the better-known Aram of that ilk. Dating from 1966, his Cello Sonata was – like the Britten work – dedicated to Mstislav Rostropovich, and is a work of considerable drama as well as intense lyricism.

  • This concert is part of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust ticket scheme, offering free tickets to those aged 8-25
  • Frank Bridge (1879-1941)
      • Cello Sonata in D minor
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
      • Cello Sonata in C Op. 65
  • Interval
  • Khachaturian (1920-2011)
      • Cello Sonata
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
      • Cello Sonata in D minor Op. 40

We also recommend