Tuesday 22 September 2020 1:00PM

Simon Höfele trumpet; Elisabeth Brauss piano

Pilss, Enescu, Liszt and more


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Autumn Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Simon Höfele trumpet
  • Elisabeth Brauss piano

At just 25 years old, Simon Höfele is one of the most exciting trumpeters of the up-and-coming generation and a BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist. In this lunchtime recital with pianist Elisabeth Brauss, he gives the world première of a new piece for trumpet solo by Geoffrey Gordon, He saith among the trumpets, which has been commissioned for Simon Höfele.

  • Karl Pilss (1902-1979)
        • Sonata for trumpet and piano
  • George Enescu (1881-1955)
        • Légende for trumpet and piano
  • Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
        • La leggierezza S144 No. 2
  • Geoffrey Gordon (b. 1968)
        • He saith among the trumpets (world première)
  • Alexander Arutiunian (1920-2012)
        • Aria et Scherzo
  • Encore
  • Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
        • Das Rosenband Op. 36 No. 1

We also recommend