Sunday 7 January 2018 7:30PM

Sir András Schiff piano

Schumann, Brahms, Mozart, Bach and Beethoven

Additional notes

This is a repeat performance of the evening concert on Sunday 7 January


  • Sir András Schiff piano

In his final decade, Brahms enjoyed an Indian summer of exquisite creativity. Sir András Schiff turns his profound compassion to Brahms’s late masterworks, set in company with Schumann’s last piano composition and intensely meditative pieces by Bach, Mozart and Beethoven.

  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Variations on an original theme in E flat major WoO. 24 'Geister Variations'
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • 3 Intermezzi Op. 117
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • Rondo in A minor K511
  • Johannes Brahms
        • 6 Klavierstücke Op. 118
  • Interval
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
        • Prelude and Fugue in B minor BWV869 from The Well-tempered Clavier Book I
  • Johannes Brahms
        • 4 Klavierstücke Op. 119
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Piano Sonata No. 26 in E flat major Op. 81a 'Les Adieux'
  • Encore
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
      • Partita No.4 in D major BWV828
        • V. Sarabande

We also recommend