Thursday 3 March 2022 7:30PM

Sir András Schiff piano; Kieran Carrel tenor; Quatuor Mosaïques



This concert is currently on advance sale to Friends of Wigmore Hall. For Friends booking dates, please visit our Priority Booking page. For information on becoming a Friend, please visit our Friends page.

If you are a Friend of Wigmore Hall and it is your time to book, please sign in at the top of the page.

General sale for this concert will open at 10:00AM on Tuesday 30 November.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Sir András Schiff piano
  • Kieran Carrel tenor
  • Quatuor Mosaïques
  • Erich Höbarth violin
  • Andrea Bischof violin
  • Anita Mitterer viola
  • Christophe Coin cello

Haydn’s 52 piano sonatas once again cover a wide segment of his lengthy and constantly developing creative career, the earliest examples dating from around 1760 and the latest from 1794. Written between 1765 and 1767, this programme’s relatively rare minor-key example was one of the first for which the composer used the designation ‘sonata’ rather than the earlier ‘divertimento’ and borrows from the manner of CPE Bach’s emotional Empfindsamkeit style. The Anglo-German tenor joins Sir András Schiff for some canzonettas.

  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
      • String Quartet in D Op. 20 No. 4
      • English Canzonettas (Set II)
      • Piano Trio in F sharp minor HXV/26
  • Interval
      • Piano Sonata in G minor HXVI/44
      • String Quartet in B flat Op. 76 No. 4 'Sunrise'

We also recommend