Friday 4 March 2022 7:30PM

Sir András Schiff piano; Quatuor Mosaïques



This concert is currently on advance sale to Friends of Wigmore Hall. For Friends booking dates, please visit our Priority Booking page. For information on becoming a Friend, please visit our Friends page.

If you are a Friend of Wigmore Hall and it is your time to book, please sign in at the top of the page.

General sale for this concert will open at 10:00AM on Tuesday 30 November.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Sir András Schiff piano
  • Quatuor Mosaïques
  • Erich Höbarth violin
  • Andrea Bischof violin
  • Anita Mitterer viola
  • Christophe Coin cello

The D major Piano Sonata was published in 1780 with a dedication to pianist sisters Caterina Franziska and Marianna von Auenbrugger – musicians also admired by Leopold Mozart. 17 years later the C major Piano Trio was one of three published as ‘Piano Sonatas with an Accompaniment for Violin and Cello’ composed for the pianist Therese Bartolozzi. Completing the programme are the intense F minor quartet and the D major work whose sombre slow movement, sometimes played at funerals, earned it the title of the ‘Friedhofsquartett’ (‘Graveyard Quartet’).

  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
      • String Quartet in F minor Op. 20 No. 5
      • Piano Trio in C HXV/27
  • Interval
      • Piano Sonata in D HXVI/37
      • String Quartet in D Op. 76 No. 5

We also recommend