Monday 18 March 2019 7:30PM

Sirius Chau flute; Michael Matthews guitar; Kumi Matsuo piano

CPE Bach, Bowen, Dowland and more


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Sirius Chau flute
  • Michael Matthews guitar
  • Kumi Matsuo piano

This Young Artists Platform presentation concert, showcasing artists selected for the scheme in 2018, features prize-winning flautist Sirius Chau whose programme includes a world première by Rau Leung, and Michael Matthews, whose refreshing approach to the guitar repertoire ‘places him at the forefront of his generation.’

  • Promoted by The Friends of Young Artists Platform
  • Promoted by the Tillett Trust & Milton Grundy Foundation
  • Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714-1788)
        • Sonata in G for flute and continuo Wq. 133
  • York Bowen (1884-1961)
        • Sonata for flute and piano Op. 120
  • John Dowland (1563-1626)
        • Lachrimae Pavan
        • Fantasia No. 7
  • Einojuhani Rautavaara (b.1928)
        • Serenades of the Unicorn
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
        • Nocturnal after John Dowland Op. 70
  • Ray Leung (b.1993)
        • As the Wind Resonates (world première)
  • Pierre Sancan
        • Sonatine for flute and piano

We also recommend