Sunday 18 February 2018 7:30PM

Škampa Quartet; Melvyn Tan piano

Mozart, Janáček, Korngold and Dvořák


  • Škampa Quartet
  • Melvyn Tan piano
  • Helena Jiříkovská violin
  • Adéla Štajnochrová violin
  • Martin Stupka viola
  • Lukás Polák cello

Regulars at Wigmore Hall for over two decades, the Prague-based Škampa Quartet taps into music’s power to rouse deep emotions.

The ensemble travels through the harmonic meanderings of Mozart’s ‘Dissonance’ Quartet, before joining forces with Melvyn Tan for Korngold’s romantic, expansive Piano Quintet.

This concert is scheduled for broadcast on BBC Radio 3 on Thursday 22 February at 7:30pm

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • String Quartet in C major K465 'Dissonance'
  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
        • String Quartet No. 1 'Kreutzer Sonata'
  • Interval
  • Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897-1957)
        • Piano Quintet in E major Op. 15
  • Encore
  • Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
      • Piano Quintet No. 2 in A major Op. 81
        • III. Scherzo-Furiant: Molto vivace

We also recommend