Saturday 1 December 2018 7:30PM

Sophie Karthäuser soprano; Anna Besson flute; Die Kölner Akademie chamber ensemble; Michael Alexander Willens director

CPE Bach and Telemann

Booking information

Change of Artist:
Due to unforeseen circumstances, Marlis Petersen (soprano) will no longer be performing in the above concert. She will be replaced by Sophie Karthäuser (soprano). The programme remains the same.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Sophie Karthäuser soprano
  • Anna Besson flute
  • Die Kölner Akademie chamber ensemble
  • Michael Alexander Willens director

Renowned soprano Sophie Karthäuser joins forces with the German baroque and classical orchestra, Die Kölner Akademie, in a programme including fascinating works by CPE Bach. They explore Telemann at his most companionable, in a divertimento celebrating a hunt and a meal, and at his most dramatic, in a cantata recounting the fate of Semele’s sister Ino.

  • Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714-1788)
        • Sinfonie in C Wq. 174
        • Flute Concerto in G Wq. 169
        • Cantata: Der Frühling Wq. 237 for soprano and strings
  • Georg Phillipp Telemann (1681-1767)
        • Divertimento in E flat TWV50:21
        • Cantata: Ino TWV20:41

We also recommend