Tuesday 25 May 2021 7:30PM

Stephen Hough piano; Amy Harman bassoon; Ben Goldscheider horn; Julian Bliss clarinet; Olivier Stankiewicz oboe; Thomas Hancox flute

Mozart, Poulenc and Stephen Hough

  • Stephen Hough piano
  • Amy Harman bassoon
  • Ben Goldscheider horn
  • Julian Bliss clarinet
  • Olivier Stankiewicz oboe
  • Thomas Hancox flute

A wonderful line up of musicians join forces for a varied programme of chamber music. Stephen Hough appears as both pianist and composer, joined by Thomas Hancox and Amy Harman for his Trio Was mit den Tränen geschieht (‘What happens to the tears’), described as ‘a substantial work in both length and emotional utterance’. After its première, Mozart considered his 1784 Quintet ‘to be the best thing I have written in my life’, whereas Poulenc extensively revised his Sextet six years after its first performance.

  • Stephen Hough (b.1961)
      • Trio for flute and bassoon and piano (Was mit den Traenen geschiet)
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
      • Quintet in E flat for piano and winds K452
  • Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)
      • Sextet for wind quintet and piano