Friday 6 December 2019 7:30PM

Stephen Hough piano; Michael Collins clarinet; Andrei Ioniţă cello

Schumann, Frühling and Brahms


  • Stephen Hough piano
  • Michael Collins clarinet
  • Andrei Ioniţă cello

Winner of several competitions – including the cello division of the International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow in 2015 – the young Romanian cellist joins with Hough and clarinettist Collins for a programme placing Brahms beside his mentor Schumann and in between them a work by the neglected Carl Frühling (1868-1937).

BBC Radio 3 will broadcast this concert on Friday 17 January at 7.30pm and it will be available on BBC Sounds for 30 days

  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • 5 Stücke im Volkston Op. 102
  • Carl Frühling
        • Clarinet Trio Op. 40
  • Interval
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Hungarian Dance No. 5 in F sharp minor WoO. 1 (trans. Stephen Hough for clarinet trio)
        • Intermezzo in E flat Op. 117 No. 1 (trans. Stephen Hough for clarinet trio)
        • Clarinet Trio in A minor Op. 114
  • Encore
  • Robert Schumann
      • Kinderszenen Op. 15
        • No. 7 Träumerei (arr. Stephen Hough)

We also recommend