Monday 6 January 2020 7:30PM

Stephen Hough piano; Michael Collins clarinet; Castalian String Quartet

Brahms and Beethoven


  • Stephen Hough piano
  • Michael Collins clarinet
  • Castalian String Quartet

Brahms’ intense interest in the clarinet blossomed towards the end of his life due to his friendship with Richard Mühlfeld, a leading exponent of the instrument. Here one of today’s finest clarinettists takes on Mühlfeld’s role, adding a beloved Beethoven work arranged by tonight’s pianist.

BBC Radio 3 will broadcast this concert on Thursday 12 March at 7.30pm and it will be available on BBC Sounds for 30 days

  • All concerts featuring the Castalian String Quartet in the 2019/20 Brahms Series are supported by a contribution from Sir Siegmund Warburg's Voluntary Settlement
  • The Brahms Series is made possible with support from the Wigmore Hall Endowment Fund
  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Clarinet Sonata in F minor Op. 120 No. 1
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Violin Sonata in F Op. 24 'Spring' (arr. Stephen Hough for clarinet and string quartet)
  • Interval
  • Johannes Brahms
        • Clarinet Sonata in E flat Op. 120 No. 2
        • Clarinet Quintet in B minor Op. 115

We also recommend