Tuesday 17 September 2019 7:30PM

Stephen Waarts violin; Gabriele Carcano piano

Fauré, Szymanowski and Bartók


  • Stephen Waarts violin
  • Gabriele Carcano piano

Stephen Waarts performs one of Szymanowski’s three great cycles from 1915, Myths, which he described in a post-war letter as ‘very original timbrally and technically’, encapsulating the enchanting and expressive nature of a mythical story. The cycle is interposed between three popular violin works.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
        • Violin Sonata No. 1 in A Op. 13
  • Karol Szymanowski (1882-1937)
        • Myths Op. 30
  • Interval
  • Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
        • Violin Sonata No. 2 BB85
        • Rhapsody No. 2 BB96a

Related Series