Wednesday 21 February 2018 7:30PM

Steven Isserlis cello; Alexander Melnikov piano

Shostakovich, Pletnev, Kissin, Rachmaninov and Skryabin


  • Steven Isserlis cello
  • Alexander Melnikov piano

Works by Mikhail Pletnev and Evgeny Kissin, two of today’s finest pianists, stand shoulder to shoulder with scores by two great composer-pianists from the past.

Steven Isserlis and Alexander Melnikov explore their enchanting combination of virtuosity, nostalgia, pathos and poetry.

  • Supported by the members of the Rubinstein Circle
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • Cello Sonata in D minor Op. 40
  • Mikhail Pletnev (b.1957)
        • Sonata for cello and piano
  • Interval
  • Evgeny Kissin (b.1971)
        • Sonata-Ballade for cello and piano
  • Sergey Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
        • Cello Sonata in G minor Op. 19
  • Encore
  • Aleksandr Skryabin (1872-1915)
        • Romance for cello and piano

We also recommend