Sunday 16 June 2019 7:30PM

Steven Isserlis cello; Anthony Marwood violin; Irène Duval violin; Eivind Ringstad viola; Dénes Várjon piano; Izabella Simon piano

Fauré and Schumann


  • Steven Isserlis cello
  • Anthony Marwood violin
  • Irène Duval violin
  • Eivind Ringstad viola
  • Dénes Várjon piano
  • Izabella Simon piano

Arrangements provide unusual fare in the final instalment of the series, giving us not one but two versions of Fauré’s string quartet. In addition, there are rare performances of piano works from Schumann’s final period, his ‘Dawn-Songs’ and ‘Ghost’ Variations.

  • Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
        • String Quartet in E minor Op. 121 (arr. Alfred Cortot for piano 4 hands) (London première)
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Gesänge der Frühe Op. 133
        • Violin Sonata No. 3 in A minor WoO. 27 (arr. Steven Isserlis)
  • Interval
  • Robert Schumann
      • Violin Concerto in D minor WoO. 23
        • II. Langsam (arr. Steven Isserlis)
        • Variations on an original theme in E flat WoO. 24 'Geister Variations'
  • Gabriel Fauré
        • String Quartet in E minor Op. 121

We also recommend