Sunday 2 December 2012 11:30AM

Steven Isserlis cello; Connie Shih piano

Britten - Works for Cello


  • Steven Isserlis cello
  • Connie Shih piano

Britten’s Second Suite for Cello’s dedicatee and first performer, Mstislav Rostropovich, later reflected on his friend’s work: ‘So much heart – such Russianness!’

The composer’s blend of passionate melodic invention and consummate musical craft delivered an uncanny spirit of spontaneity and musical substance to his cello writing, powerfully expressed in the ‘Dialogo’ and ‘Declamato’ movements of the C major Cello Sonata and Cello Suite No. 2. Steven Isserlis here inhabits the emotionally charged world of Britten’s cello works.

  • Supported by the Britten-Pears Foundation.
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
        • Cello Sonata in A major
        • Tema 'Sacher'
        • Cello Suite No. 3 Op. 87
        • Cello Sonata in C major Op. 65

We also recommend