Thursday 16 December 2021 7:30PM

Steven Isserlis cello; Connie Shih piano

Centenary of Saint-Saëns’s Death


Priority Booking for this concert will open to Friends of Wigmore Hall from Wednesday 22 September at 10:00AM. For a full breakdown of booking dates, please visit our Priority Booking page.

General sale for this concert will open at 10:00AM on Monday 4 October.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Steven Isserlis cello
  • Connie Shih piano

The cellist has championed many composers over his illustrious career, notably the multi-talented Camille Saint-Saëns, the centenary of whose death at the age of 86 is commemorated in a programme in which his works are complemented by those of his friends and associates, presenting a picture of musical France during his extended lifetime.

  • Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
      • Cello Sonata No. 1 in C minor Op. 32
  • Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
      • Romance oubliée S132
  • Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
      • Romance Op. 69
  • Camille Saint-Saëns
      • Romance in F Op. 36
  • Georges Bizet (1838-1875)
      • Carmen fantaisie
        • (arranged by Joseph Hollman)
  • Interval
  • Willaume (b.1873)
      • La noce bretonne
  • Augusta Holmès (1847-1903)
      • Noël d'Irlande
        • (arranged by Steven Isserlis)
  • Reynaldo Hahn (1874-1947)
      • 2 improvisations sur des airs irlandais
  • Camille Saint-Saëns
      • Cello Sonata No. 2 in F Op. 123

We also recommend