Tuesday 23 April 2019 7:30PM

Steven Isserlis cello; Veronika Eberle violin; Arisa Fujita violin; Amihai Grosz viola; Connie Shih piano

Schumann and Fauré

Additional notes

Change of Artist:
As Janine Jansen (violin) continues a period of recovery following a hand injury, she needs to limit her schedule and therefore has had to withdraw from the above concert. We are very grateful to Veronika Eberle (violin) for stepping in as a replacement.

The programme remains the same



  • Steven Isserlis cello
  • Veronika Eberle violin
  • Arisa Fujita violin
  • Amihai Grosz viola
  • Connie Shih piano

The latest instalment of Steven Isserlis’s juxtaposition of two favourite composers includes the first of Fauré’s two piano quintets, unveiled in 1906, and Schumann’s single piano quartet, an exuberant work emanating from his year devoted to chamber music (1842).

BBC Radio 3 will broadcast this concert live on Tuesday 23 April at 7.30pm and it will be available via BBC iPlayer Radio and the BBC Sounds app for 30 days

  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Fantasiestücke Op. 73
  • Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
        • Piano Quintet No. 1 in D minor Op. 89
  • Interval
  • Gabriel Fauré
        • Romance Op. 69
        • Elégie Op. 24
  • Robert Schumann
        • Piano Quartet in E flat Op. 47

We also recommend