Saturday 31 October 2020 7:30PM

Steven Isserlis cello; Lucy Crowe soprano; Alina Ibragimova violin; Rachel Roberts viola; Simon Callow actor; Connie Shih piano; Alasdair Beatson piano

Proust Day


Watch this concert in HD video until 1 December 2020: Watch

Download PDF song sheet/translations here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Steven Isserlis cello
  • Lucy Crowe soprano
  • Alina Ibragimova violin
  • Rachel Roberts viola
  • Simon Callow actor
  • Connie Shih piano
  • Alasdair Beatson piano
  • Charlotte Clapperton mezzo-soprano
  • Isabelle Atkinson soprano
  • Francis Gush countertenor
  • Phillip Costovski tenor
  • Thomas O’Kelly tenor
  • Marcus Jakhelln Dawson baritone
  • Cheuk Yu Samuel Tang baritone

Anticipating 2022, which brings the centenary of the death of French novelist Marcel Proust (1871-1922), and at John Gilhooly’s invitation, cellist Steven Isserlis has conceived a concert of music with links to the epoch-making French writer. Proust loved music and chamber music in particular meant a great deal to him: musical references are common throughout his vast masterpiece À la recherche du temps perdu.

On 31 October, Isserlis celebrates such references and Proust’s wider fascination with individual composers and their works – not least the Venezuelan-born, French-naturalised composer, pianist and conductor Reynaldo Hahn, his long-term friend and short-term lover. He is joined by Lucy Crowe, Alina Ibragimova, Rachel Roberts, Connie Shih and Alasdair Beatson, in an evening of music and word narrated by actor Simon Callow.

        • Programme to include;
  • Léon Delafosse (1874-1955)
        • Les Silenciares
  • Reynaldo Hahn (1874-1947)
        • Cimetière de campagne
        • Infidélité
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
      • Fantasiestücke Op. 12
        • Des Abends
  • Charles Gounod (1818-1893)
        • Ave Maria
  • Fryderyk Chopin (1810-1849)
        • Ballade No. 2 in F Op. 38
  • Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
        • Guitares et Mandolines
        • Danse macabre Op. 40
  • César Franck (1822-1890)
        • Nocturne
        • Le sylphe
  • Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
      • Piano Quartet No. 1 in C minor Op. 15
        • III. Adagio