Tuesday 2 February 2021 7:30PM

Steven Isserlis cello; Mishka Rushdie Momen piano

Janácek, Kabalevsky and Shostakovich


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Spring Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Steven Isserlis cello
  • Mishka Rushdie Momen piano

The British duo, who performed together in our June 2020 special broadcast series, returns to the Wigmore stage for a programme that begins with a sonata by Soviet composer and teacher Dmitry Kabalevsky, one of the founding members of the Union of Soviet Composers in Moscow. The programme continues with the fairy-tale imagery of Janáček’s Pohádka and Shostakovich’s dramatic First Sonata of 1934.

  • Dmitri Kabalevsky (1904-1987)
      • Cello Sonata in B flat major Op. 71
  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
      • Pohádka
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
      • Cello Sonata in D minor Op. 40
  • Encore
  • Sergey Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
      • Lied for cello and piano