Saturday 31 March 2018 7:30PM

Sylvia Schwartz soprano; Malcolm Martineau piano

Berg, Wolf, Guridi and Turina

Additional notes

Change of Programme
The programme for this concert has been amended from previously advertised and will now be as listed below.

Booking information

£5 tickets are available to this concert for Under 35s More Information


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 administration fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Sylvia Schwartz soprano
  • Malcolm Martineau piano

Spanish soprano Sylvia Schwartz won rave reviews for her debut album with Malcolm Martineau, not least for their performance of Guridi’s turbulent Seis Canciones Castellanas.

She opens this recital with Berg’s Seven Early Songs and a dozen late romantic masterworks from Wolf’s Italienisches Liederbuch.

  • Alban Berg (1885-1935)
        • Sieben frühe Lieder
  • Hugo Wolf (1860-1903)
      • Italienisches Liederbuch
        • O wär dein Haus durchsichtig
        • Gesegnet sei das Grün
        • Heut' Nacht erhob ich mich
        • Mein Liebster singt am Haus
        • Mein Liebster ist so klein
        • Nein, junger Herr
        • Mein Liebster hat zu Tische
        • Wie lange schon
        • Du denkst mit einem Fädchen
        • Wer rief dich denn?
        • Schweig einmal still
        • Ich hab in Penna einen Liebsten
  • Interval
  • Jesús Guridi (1886-1961)
        • Seis Canciones Castellanas
  • Joaquin Turina (1882-1949)
        • Tres Poemas Op. 81

We also recommend