Wednesday 17 May 2017 7:30PM

Takács Quartet



  • Print
  • Email
  • Add to Calendar
  • Takács Quartet Associate Artists

In his book Beethoven for a Later Age, the Takács Quartet’s first violinist Edward Dusinberre describes the power of the Große Fugue and its razor-edged themes to ‘threaten and chase me … eroding sanity’.

The monumental composition is performed here as the finale to the String Quartet in B flat, for which it was originally written.

  • Supported by the Season Patrons who have made a major contribution to the 2016/17 Wigmore Series
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • String Quartet in F major Op. 59 No. 1 'Razumovsky'
  • Interval
        • String Quartet in B flat major Op. 130 with Grosse Fuge Op. 133

We also recommend