Friday 9 November 2018 7:30PM

Takács Quartet

Haydn, Bartók and Brahms


  • Takács Quartet

The fourth of Haydn’s ‘Sun’ quartets – so-called because of the device of a rising sun emblazoned on an early published score – is notable for the ‘gypsy’ inflections in its final two movements, while Bartók’s first quartet mourns an unhappy love affair.

BBC Radio 3 will broadcast this concert live and it will be available on the BBC iPlayer Radio for 30 days

  • In Memory of Peter Flatter
  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
        • String Quartet in D Op. 20 No. 4
  • Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
        • String Quartet No. 1 BB52
  • Interval
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • String Quartet in A minor Op. 51 No. 2

Related Series