Wednesday 16 November 2022 7:30PM

Takács Quartet

Bartók, Britten and Dvořák


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Takács Quartet Associate Artists
  • Edward Dusinberre violin
  • Harumi Rhodes violin
  • Richard O'Neill viola
  • András Fejér cello

'All of these works feature composers thinking about home. Britten composed his first quartet in California in the summer of 1941. During that time an article by EM Forster about Aldeburgh and the poetry of George Crabbe prompted him to return to England and make his home there. In August 1939 Bartók began his sixth quartet in idyllic Alpine scenery in Switzerland but hurried home to Budapest following the outbreak of World War II. He finished the piece in November and shortly afterwards decided to leave Hungary for good. In exile in America he heard the first performance of his sixth quartet given in New York in January 1941. Dvořák’s Op. 106 by contrast celebrates a homecoming. In May 1895 Dvořák returned to Bohemia from New York. He composed Op. 106 later that year.'

-Ed Dusinberre, violin I

  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
      • String Quartet No. 1 in D Op. 25
  • Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
      • String Quartet No. 6 BB119
  • Interval
  • Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
      • String Quartet No. 13 in G Op. 106

We also recommend