Monday 13 November 2017 7:30PM

Takács Quartet; Louise Williams viola

Mozart, Shostakovich and Mendelssohn


  • Takács Quartet Associate Artists
  • Louise Williams viola
  • Edward Dusinberre violin
  • Károly Schranz violin
  • Geraldine Walther viola
  • András Fejér cello

It’s hard to believe that Mozart was only thirty-four when he composed his second ‘Prussian’ Quartet, such is its maturity and depth of invention. The Takács Quartet places it alongside Shostakovich’s String Quartet No. 11, a profoundly reflective work written while its composer was recovering from a heart attack.

Louise Williams joins the ensemble after the interval in Mendelssohn’s dramatic Second String Quintet.

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • String Quartet in B flat major K589 'Prussian'
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • String Quartet No. 11 in F minor Op. 122
  • Interval
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
        • String Quintet No. 2 in B flat major Op. 87

We also recommend