Friday 10 May 2013 7:30PM

Takács Quartet; Ralph Kirshbaum cello

Beethoven and Schubert


  • Takács Quartet
  • Ralph Kirshbaum cello

Wigmore Hall’s Associate Artists, the Takács Quartet, explore two towering masterworks of chamber music in their latest programme. They join forces with Ralph Kirshbaum for Schubert’s C major String Quintet, completed a few months before the composer’s death in 1828 and overlooked for publication for another quarter century.

Over the past 160 years, the work has acquired near-mythic status as one of the greatest of all chamber compositions. Beethoven’s String Quartet in C sharp minor Op. 131 likewise inhabits the pantheon reserved for great works of art. The piece, written two years before Schubert’s String Quintet, pushes at the limits of human imagination.

  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • String Quartet No. 14 in C sharp minor Op. 131
  • Interval
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • String Quintet in C major D956

We also recommend