Monday 11 May 2020 7:30PM

Cancelled: Takács Quartet; Roger Tapping viola

Webern and Brahms


Cancelled Concert
In response to advice from Public Health England, Wigmore Hall will be closed from Tuesday 17 March. This event has therefore been cancelled.

Read a full statement from Wigmore Hall Director John Gilhooly.


  • Takács Quartet
  • Roger Tapping viola

The legendary quartet concentrates on two major works by Brahms, each requiring a second viola, taken here by a former member who is now in the Juilliard Quartet. The short opening work by Webern (1905) follows directly on from the Brahmsian tradition.

  • The Brahms Series is made possible with support from the Wigmore Hall Endowment Fund
  • Anton Webern (1883-1945)
        • Langsamer Satz
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • String Quintet in F Op. 88
  • Interval
  • Johannes Brahms
        • String Quintet in G Op. 111

We also recommend