Wednesday 24 June 2020 1:00PM

Guy Johnston cello; Melvyn Tan piano

Live on BBC Radio 3 and in HD video on this website


This concert forms part of the Wigmore Hall BBC Radio 3 Special Broadcast series. It will be available to listen to live on BBC Radio 3 and also to watch live on Wigmore Hall's website.
The concert will be approximately one hour in duration.

  • Guy Johnston cello
  • Melvyn Tan piano

Watch our live streams here

BBC Sounds

The British duo’s programme includes Schumann’s set of character pieces, intended for clarinet but with alternative options for viola or cello, and Chopin’s 1846 sonata, one of only nine works he wrote for instruments other than the piano.

  • Wigmore Hall's live stream of this concert is supported by Hamish Parker
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • 7 Variations on 'Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen' from Mozart's Die Zauberflöte WoO. 46
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Fantasiestücke Op. 73
  • Fryderyk Chopin (1810-1849)
        • Cello Sonata in G minor Op. 65

We also recommend