Tuesday 11 June 2019 7:30PM

The English Concert

Orpheus of Princes


Change of Programme
The programme for this concert has been amended from previously advertised and will now be as listed below:


  • The English Concert

An accomplished musician and avid supporter of the arts, Grand Duke Ferdinand III of Tuscany stood as the last in the Medici dynasty. He turned Florence into a centre of excellence, attracting the best musicians from far and wide.

BBC Radio 3 will broadcast this concert on a date to be confirmed and it will be available via BBC iPlayer Radio and the BBC Sounds app for 30 days

  • George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
        • Overture from Rodrigo HWV5
  • Giovanni Legrenzi (1626-1690)
      • La cetra Op. 10
        • Sonata for four violins
  • Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713)
        • Concerto grosso in D Op. 6 No. 4
  • Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
        • Concerto in D minor for 2 violins and cello Op. 3 No. 11 RV565 'L'estro armonico'
  • Interval
  • Alessandro Scarlatti (1660-1725)
        • Introduction from Cain, overo Il primo omicidio
  • Benedetto Vinaccesi (c.1666-1719)
        • Sonata IV
  • Alessandro Marcello (1673-1747)
        • Oboe Concerto in C minor
  • Antonio Vivaldi
        • Concerto in B minor for 4 violins and cello in B minor Op. 3 No. 10 RV580 'L'estro armonico'

We also recommend