Friday 22 October 2021 7:30PM

The English Concert; Kristian Bezuidenhout director

Handel and Purcell
Live stream starts at 8:00PM


Watch this concert in HD video on demand: Watch

Download the PDF programme and song sheet/translations here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • The English Concert
  • Kristian Bezuidenhout director
  • Anna Dennis soprano
  • Miriam Allan soprano
  • James Hall countertenor
  • David de Winter tenor
  • Matthew Brook bass
  • Ashley Riches bass
  • George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
      • Concerto Grosso in D minor Op. 6 No. 10
  • Henry Purcell (1659-1695)
      • Why, why are all the muses mute? (Welcome song for King James II) Z343
  • Interval
  • Henry Purcell
      • The Gordion Knot Unty’d Z597
        • Overture
      • King Arthur Z628
        • Hornpipe
      • The Old Bachelor Z607
        • Slow Air
      • The Virtuous Wife, or Good Luck at Last Z611
        • First Act Tune
      • King Arthur Z628
        • How blest are Shepherds
      • Timon of Athens Z632
        • Curtain Tune
  • George Frideric Handel
      • Chandos Anthem No. 7 ‘My song shall be alway’ HWV252

We also recommend