Saturday 9 April 2016 7:30PM

Sir András Schiff piano

The Final Sonatas: Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven and Schubert

Additional notes

Change of Running Order
The programme for this concert has changed from previously advertised and will now be as listed below.


  • Sir András Schiff piano

Each piece in this programme offers a sense of striving for the infinite, heard in the contrapuntal ingenuity of Mozart’s final piano sonata and ever-present in Beethoven’s Piano Sonata in C minor Op. 111.

Sir András Schiff begins with Haydn’s mighty Piano Sonata in E flat and draws his survey of final sonatas to a close with Schubert’s majestic Piano Sonata in B flat D960.

  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
        • Piano Sonata in E flat major HXVI:52
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Piano Sonata No. 32 in C minor Op. 111
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • Piano Sonata in D major K576
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • Piano Sonata in B flat major D960
  • Interval
  • Encore
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
      • Goldberg Variations BWV988
        • Aria da capo

We also recommend