Tuesday 26 January 2021 7:30PM

The Hermes Experiment

Alex Mills, Anna Meredith, Boulanger and more


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Spring Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • The Hermes Experiment
  • Héloïse Werner soprano
  • Anne Denholm harp
  • Oliver Pashley clarinet
  • Marianne Schofield double bass

The Hermes Experiment, a contemporary British ensemble consisting of harp, clarinet, soprano and double bass, enjoys “capitalizing on [its] deliberately idiosyncratic combination of instruments” through existing works, the members’ own arrangements and commissioning new music. Its programme tonight showcases just that, with the composers of all but two of the works active today and four pieces arranged by members of the group.

  • Barbara Strozzi (1619-1677)
      • Diporti di Euterpe Op. 7
        • Tradimento (arranged by Héloïse Werner)
  • Anna Meredith (b.1978)
      • Fin like a Flower
        • (arranged by Marianne Schofield)
  • Lili Boulanger (1893-1918)
      • Reflets
        • (arranged by Marianne Schofield)
  • Alex Mills
      • Saṃsāra
  • Freya Waley-Cohen (b.1989)
      • We Phoenician Sailors
  • Helen Grime (b.1981)
      • Council Offices
        • (arranged by Oliver Pashley)
  • Philip Venables (b.1979)
      • A Photograph
  • Misha Mullov-Abbado (b.1991)
      • The Linden Tree
  • Emily Hall (b.1978)
      • I am happy living simply
      • The end of the ending
  • Oliver Leith
      • Uh Huh, Yeah

We also recommend