Sunday 27 March 2022 7:30PM

The Sixteen

Streams of Tears (Iberian roots)


Download the PDF programme and song sheet/translations here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.

Slight Change of Programme
The programme for the above concert has changed slightly and will now be as follows:


  • The Sixteen
  • Harry Christophers conductor
  • Katy Hill soprano
  • Alexandra Kidgell soprano
  • Charlotte Mobbs soprano
  • Emilia Morton soprano
  • Daniel Collins alto
  • Edward McMullan alto
  • Jeremy Budd tenor
  • Mark Dobell tenor
  • Eamonn Dougan bass
  • Stuart Young bass
  • Joy Smith harp
  • Alastair Ross organ
  • Eligio Quinteiro theorbo

Music from Iberia and the New World comprises The Sixteen’s programme, with a focus on Gutiérrez de Padilla (c.1590-1664), born in Spain but from 1620 domiciled in Puebla, Mexico, where he worked at the Cathedral. His music is surrounded by that of such figures as the Portuguese Diogo Dias Melgaz (1638-1700), Duarte Lobo (c.1564-1646) and Manuel Cardoso (1566-1650); the Spanish Antonio de Cabezón (1510-66) and Juan Bautista José Cabanilles (c.1614-1712); and the Italian resident in Spain, Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757).

  • Juan Gutiérrez de Padilla (c.1590-1664)
      • Mirabilia testimonia
  • Melgaz (1638-1700)
      • Salve regina
  • Antonio de Cabezón (1510-1566)
      • Ave maris stella
  • Lobo (c.1564-1646)
      • Pater peccavi
  • Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757)
      • Iste confessor
  • Manuel Cardoso (1566-1650)
      • Sitivit anima mea
  • Juan Gutiérrez de Padilla
      • Lamentations for Maundy Thursday
  • Interval
  • Juan Gutiérrez de Padilla
      • Salve regina
  • Francisco Correa de Arauxo (1584-1654)
      • Quinto tiento de medio registro de tiple de séptimo tono
  • Domenico Scarlatti
      • Stabat mater

We also recommend