Wednesday 17 April 2019 7:30PM

The Sixteen; Harry Christophers conductor; Michael Pennington narrator

Music from the Chapel Royal with excerpts from Pepys’ diary


  • The Sixteen
  • Harry Christophers conductor
  • Michael Pennington narrator

In its 40th anniversary season, the ensemble celebrates the group of young composers who revivified the Chapel Royal at Charles II’s Restoration, adding a contemporary commentary from Samuel Pepys.

  • Henry Cooke (c.1615-1672)
        • O Lord, thou hast searched me out
  • John Blow (1648-1708)
        • In the time of trouble
  • Pelham Humfrey (1647-1674)
        • Lord, I have sinned
  • John Blow
        • Salvator mundi
  • Francesco Corbetta (c.1615-1681)
        • Preludio and Chiacona
  • Pelham Humfrey
        • O Lord my God
  • Interval
  • Pelham Humfrey
        • By the waters of Babylon
  • Samuel Pepys (1633-1703)
        • Beauty retire (arr. Cesare Morelli)
  • Henry Cooke
        • Put me not to rebuke
  • Pelham Humfrey
        • Wilt thou forgive that sin (A Hymne to God the Father)
  • Pelham Humfrey/John Blow/William Turner
        • I will alway give thanks (The Club Anthem)
    • interspersed with excerpts from Samuel Pepys' Diary
  • Encore
  • Henry Purcell (c.1659-1695)
        • Hear my prayer, O Lord Z15

We also recommend