Friday 14 January 2022 1:00PM

Thomas Adès piano; Pekka Kuusisto violin

Janáček, Ravel, Stravinsky and Thomas Adès


Cancelled Concert
Due to the serious ill health of a close family member Pekka Kuusisto (violin) is unable to perform in the above concert. The concert has therefore been cancelled and will be rescheduled in due course. There will be no replacement.


  • Thomas Adès piano
  • Pekka Kuusisto violin

From a family of musicians, and the first Finn to win the International Jean Sibelius Competition in 1995, Pekka Kuusisto is one of today’s most inventive violinists, here joining with a composer/pianist of equal originality. Composed in 2020 and premièred in Paris last October, Adès’s new Fairytale Dances draws on English folk sources.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
      • Violin Sonata
  • Thomas Adès (b.1971)
      • Märchentänze
  • Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
      • Duo concertant
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
      • Violin Sonata No. 2 in G

We also recommend