Sunday 8 December 2019 7:30PM

Thomas Oliemans baritone; Malcolm Martineau piano

Schumann, Gade and Brahms

Additional notes

Change of Programme
The programme for this concert has been amended from previously advertised and will now be as listed below:


  • Thomas Oliemans baritone
  • Malcolm Martineau piano

Working here with a pianist with whom he has experienced exceptional artistic success, the Dutch baritone contrasts Schumann’s classic cycle with extracts from Brahms’ narrative work and a set by Schumann’s friend, the Danish Niels Gade.

  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Dichterliebe Op. 48
  • Interval
  • Niels Gade (1817-1890)
        • 5 Gedichte aus 'Bilder des Orients' Op. 24
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
      • Die schöne Magelone Op. 33
        • Sind es Schmerzen, sind es Freuden
        • Liebe kam aus fernen Landen
        • Wir müssen uns trennen
        • Ruhe, Süssliebchen
        • Wie schnell verschwindet
        • Treue Liebe dauert lange

We also recommend