Tuesday 13 April 2021 7:30PM

Trish Clowes saxophone; Ross Stanley piano

Dupré, Ellington, Farrés and more


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Spring Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Trish Clowes saxophone
  • Ross Stanley piano

Saxophonist and composer Trish Clowes has been described as “an improviser to be reckoned with” (Downbeat Magazine) and “one of the most agile and original jugglers of improv and adventurous composition to have appeared in the UK in recent times” (John Fordham, The Guardian). Here she performs with fellow band member, pianist Ross Stanley in a programme of new and specially arranged music.

  • Trish Clowes (b.1984)
      • Free to Fall
  • Joe Cutler (b.1968)
      • Hawaii Hawaii Hawaii (adaptation of highlights from the 3rd movement of the saxophone concerto)
  • Ross Stanley (b.1982)
      • Avoidance
  • Duke Ellington (1899-1974)
      • Prelude to a Kiss
  • Dupré (1886-1971)
      • 3 Preludes et Fugues
        • Adaptation of third prelude
  • Ross Stanley
      • Ashford Days
  • Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
      • The Four Seasons
        • Sleep (adaptation of the slow movement of ‘Autumn’) (arranged by Trish Clowes) (arranged by Ross Stanley)
  • Trish Clowes
      • Decently Ripped (for Wayne Shorter)
  • Farrés (1903-1985)
      • 3 Palabras
  • Trish Clowes
      • A view with a room
  • Traditional
      • The Month of January

We also recommend