Monday 12 November 2018 7:30PM

Truls Mørk cello; Behzod Abduraimov piano

Beethoven, Prokofiev and Rachmaninov


  • Truls Mørk cello
  • Behzod Abduraimov piano

Premièred in 1950 by Mstislav Rostropovich and Sviatoslav Richter, Prokofiev’s sonata is a late work written at a time of political disfavour, and forms a worthy companion to the equally substantial masterpiece composed by his Russian predecessor in 1901.

  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Cello Sonata in F Op. 5 No. 1
  • Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953)
        • Cello Sonata in C Op. 119
  • Interval
  • Sergey Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
        • Cello Sonata in G minor Op. 19

We also recommend