Saturday 13 October 2018 7:30PM

Veronika Eberle violin; Dénes Várjon piano

Bach, Bartók, Janácek and Schumann


  • Veronika Eberle violin
  • Dénes Várjon piano

Of the two early 20th-century sonatas, Janáček’s was written in the summer of 1914, when he ‘could hear the sounds of steel clashing in my troubled head’, while Bartók’s rhapsodic second sonata of 1922 is one of his most exploratory achievements.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
        • Violin Sonata No. 3 in E BWV1016
  • Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
        • Violin Sonata No. 2 BB85
  • Interval
  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
        • Violin Sonata
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Violin Sonata No. 3 in A minor WoO. 27

We also recommend