Sunday 13 October 2019 7:30PM

Vilde Frang violin; Michail Lifits piano

Brahms, Schubert, Bartók and Ponce


  • Vilde Frang violin
  • Michail Lifits piano

A multi-award winner, the widely acclaimed Norwegian violinist brings her special artistry to bear on a programme of three major works. The demanding first Bartók sonata was written for the Hungarian virtuoso Jelly d’Arányi, with whom the composer performed it in London in 1922.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Violin Sonata No. 1 in G Op. 78
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • Fantasy in C D934
  • Interval
  • Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
        • Violin Sonata No. 1 BB84
  • Encore
  • Manuel Ponce (1882-1948)
        • Estrellita (arr. Jascha Heifetz)

Related Series