Wednesday 30 October 1901 8:00PM

Wessely String Quartet

Brahms, Dvořák and Haydn


  • Wessely String Quartet* *Wigmore Hall Debut
  • Hans Wessely violin* *Wigmore Hall Debut
  • Spencer Dyke violin* *Wigmore Hall Debut
  • Lionel Tertis viola
  • B. Patterson Parker cello* *Wigmore Hall Debut

Hans Wessely was born in 1862 in Vienna and studied at the Vienna Conservatory, making his debut in 1883 and quickly achieving recognition in Austria and Germany. He came to London in 1888 and the following year took up a professorship at the Royal Academy of Music, where his students included Lionel Tertis. Tertis, together with Spencer Dyke as second violinist and B. Patterson Parker as cellist, joined Wessely for this Wigmore Hall debut of the Wessely String Quartet.

The Quartet would return to Wigmore Hall many times, giving several concerts each year until 1914, although by 1904 Tertis had been replaced by Ernest Tomlinson; in the 1920s Tomlinson and Patterson Parker would go on to play alongside Spencer Dyke in his own eponymous string quartet.

  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • String Quartet in A minor Op. 51 No. 2
  • Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
        • String Quartet in G major Op. 106
  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
        • String Quartet in D major Op. 64 No. 5 'The Lark'

We also recommend